FREQUENT QUESTIONS

The shares of listed real estate companies are an elegant way to make indirect investments in real estate. Nevertheless, such investments can also be very complex. Our FAQ section provides answers to the most important and frequently asked questions about real estate shares, the advantages of investing in real estate shares, and the investment strategies of AVENTOS Capital Markets (ACM) and the AVENTOS Global Real Estate Securities real estate equity fund.

What are listed real estate companies?

Listed real estate companies are joint-stock companies whose sole objective is to invest in, hold, develop and manage real estate. Accordingly, current income is generated almost exclusively from renting and leasing the respective properties.

How many listed real estate companies are there worldwide and how large is the market?

There are currently more than 3,000 listed real estate companies worldwide with a total market capitalisation of more than EUR 3 trillion. This corresponds to about twelve percent of total global real estate assets.

What are REITs?

Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITs) are a special form of real estate corporation that are common in many countries around the world. In order to obtain REIT status, companies in Germany, must, for example, generate at least 75 percent of their income from renting out real estate, have invested at least 75 percent of their funds in real estate assets and distribute at least 90 percent of their annual net profits to investors as dividends. Another key feature is that the profits generated by the REIT are not taxed on the corporate side. Similar rules apply in other countries.

What is the difference between listed real estate companies and real estate funds?

Real estate funds are entrepreneurial investments in limited partnerships (closed-end funds) or special funds (open-end funds). Fund units can only be traded to a limited extent: closed-end real estate funds have fixed terms, and there is no provision for selling units during this fixed term. In the case of open-end real estate funds, fund units can only be redeemed subject to minimum holding and notice periods and potential redemption discounts. Open-market trading only takes place for very large open-end funds via an unregulated secondary market. Listed real estate shares, on the other hand, are liquid securities that can be bought and sold on any trading day.

Aren’t real estate shares much more volatile than other forms of real estate investment?

Like all listed shares, the value of real estate shares can also be influenced by capital market fluctuations, while real estate assets are valued by experts at regular intervals on a reporting date basis. In this respect, much of the volatility of these investments are simply not visible to the market, as there is no regular trading. However, long-term analysis reveals that real estate share prices correlate more closely with the development of real estate markets than they do with movements of the stock markets.1

Martin Hoesli, Elias Oikarinen: “Does Listed Real Estate Behave Like Direkt Real Estate?“, EPRA 2019: https://prodapp.epra.com/media/Does_listed_real_estate_behave_like_direct_real_estate_updated_and_broader_evidence_1579519010027.pdf

In which countries and real estate asset classes are listed real estate companies particularly strongly represented?

The lion’s share of the market capitalisation of listed real estate companies is in Asia/Pacific (44 percent) and North America (39 percent), overwhelmingly in the USA. Europe plays a relatively minor role (16 percent). Taking the MSCI World Real Estate Index as a benchmark, around 30 percent of market capitalisation at the end of 2020 was attributable to special-purpose real estate (transmission towers, data centres, etc.), followed by logistics/industrial properties at 11%. Office properties registered a share of just 10%.

Are there also indices that track listed real estate shares – and index funds that track these indices (ETFs)?

There are specialised real estate share and REIT indices, including indices from MSCI, S&P and Dow Jones, which can provide a benchmark. Some ETF providers have also launched corresponding index funds. However, AVENTOS Capital Markets has adopted an investment approach designed to outperform these indices thanks to its own active stock selection. Existing real estate ETFs continue to weight their individual positions according to market capitalisation, and thus tend to buy expensive stocks and sell stocks that have fallen in price.

How have returns on real estate shares developed compared to other asset classes?

Any comparison between equity submarkets always depends on the period you choose to analyse. On average over the past five years until the end of 2020, for example, REITs slightly outperformed a broadly diversified European equity portfolio. Compared to real estate funds, in contrast, REITs have performed six times better over the past 20 years.

Could buying shares have an impact on the share price? What volume of shares would you have to buy to move the price?

Whether buying shares has an impact on the share price primarily depends on the scale of the investment in relation to a company’s total market capitalisation, the free float and the daily trading volume. There is simply no one-size-fits-all answer to this question. However, in the case of highly liquid shares in blue-chip companies, a single investor will only have a significant impact on the company’s share proice in exceptional cases. However, AVENTOS Capital Markets only invests in stocks with sufficient market capitalisation and good tradability.

 

In our whitepaper you will find more information about our approach.

Häufige Fragen

Die Aktien börsennotierter Immobilienunternehmen sind ein eleganter Weg des indirekten Immobilien-Investments – und zugleich ein sehr vielschichtiger. Hier finden Sie Antworten auf die wichtigsten und häufigsten Fragen rund um Immobilienaktien und ihre Vorteile, die Anlagestrategie von AVENTOS Capital Markets (ACM) sowie zum Immobilienaktienfonds AVENTOS Global Real Estate Securities.

Was genau versteht man unter börsennotierten Immobilienunternehmen?

Dabei handelt es sich um börsennotierte Aktiengesellschaften, deren ausschließliches Ziel in der Investition, der Bestandshaltung, der Entwicklung und der Verwaltung von Immobilien besteht. Entsprechend stammen die laufenden Erträge nahezu ausschließlich aus Vermietung und Verpachtung der jeweiligen Objekte.

Wie viele börsennotierte Immobilienunternehmen gibt es weltweit und wie groß ist dieser Markt?

Weltweit gibt es derzeit mehr als 3.000 börsennotierte Immobilien-AGs mit einer Marktkapitalisierung von insgesamt mehr als drei Billionen Euro. Das entspricht etwa zwölf Prozent des gesamten weltweiten Immobilienvermögens.

Was sind REITs?

Bei Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITs) handelt es sich um eine in vielen Ländern der Welt verbreitete Sonderform von Immobilien-AGs. Um den REIT-Status zu erlangen, müssen die Unternehmen zum Beispiel in Deutschland unter anderem mindestens 75 Prozent ihrer Erträge aus der Vermietung von Immobilien erwirtschaften, mindestens 75 Prozent ihres Vermögens in Immobilien investiert haben und mindestens 90 Prozent des Jahresüberschusses als Dividende an die Anleger ausschütten. Umgekehrt findet keine Besteuerung der Gewinne auf Unternehmensseite statt. Ähnliche Regeln gelten in anderen Ländern.

Worin unterscheiden sich börsennotierte Immobilien-AGs von Immobilienfonds?

Bei Immobilienfonds handelt es sich um unternehmerische Beteiligungen an Kommanditgesellschaften (geschlossene Fonds) oder Sondervermögen (offene Fonds). Diese Fondsanteile sind nur begrenzt handelbar: Geschlossene Immobilienfonds haben feste Laufzeiten, ein Verkauf der Anteile während der Laufzeit ist nicht vorgesehen. Bei offenen Immobilienfonds ist eine Rückgabe der Fondsanteile nur unter Wahrung von Mindesthaltedauern und Kündigungsfristen sowie unter Berücksichtigung eventueller Rückgabeabschläge möglich. Ein liquider Börsenhandel findet nur bei sehr großen offenen Fonds über einen unregulierten Zweitmarkt statt. Bei börsennotierten Immobilienaktien hingegen handelt es sich um ein liquides Wertpapier, das börsentäglich ge- und verkauft werden kann.

Sind Immobilienaktien nicht viel volatiler als andere Formen des Immobilien-Investments?

Wie alle börsennotierten Aktien unterliegen auch Immobilienaktien zum Teil den Schwankungen an den Kapitalmärkten, während andere Immobilien-Investments – wenn überhaupt – lediglich in regelmäßigen Abständen stichtagsbezogen gutachterlich bewertet werden. Insofern sind weite Teile der Volatilität dieser Investments für Marktteilnehmer lediglich nicht sichtbar, da kein regelmäßiger Handel erfolgt. Bei langfristiger Betrachtung zeigt sich indes, dass die Entwicklung von Immobilienaktien stärker mit der Entwicklung der Immobilien- als der Aktienmärkte korreliert.1

Martin Hoesli, Elias Oikarinen: „Does Listed Real Estate Behave Like Direkt Real Estate?“, EPRA 2019: https://prodapp.epra.com/media/Does_listed_real_estate_behave_like_direct_real_estate_updated_and_broader_evidence_1579519010027.pdf

In welchen Ländern und Nutzungsarten sind börsennotierte Immobilienunternehmen besonders stark vertreten?

Der größte Teil der Marktkapitalisierung börsennotierter Immobilien-AGs befindet sich in Asien/Pazifik (44 %) und Nordamerika (39 %), insbesondere in den USA. Europa spielt eine relativ untergeordnete Rolle (16 %). Nimmt man den MSCI World Real Estate Index zum Maßstab, so entfielen Ende 2020 rund 30 Prozent der Marktkapitalisierung auf Spezialimmobilien (Sendemasten, Datencenter etc.), gefolgt von Logistik-/Industrial-Immobilien mit elf Prozent. Büroimmobilien haben hierbei nur einen Anteil von zehn Prozent.

Gibt es auch Indizes, die börsennotierte Immobilienaktien abbilden – und somit auch entsprechende Indexfonds (ETFs)?

Es gibt auf Immobilienaktien beziehungsweise REITs spezialisierte Indizes, beispielsweise von MSCI, S&P oder Dow Jones, die eine Benchmark darstellen können. Einige ETF-Anbieter haben auch entsprechende Indexfonds aufgelegt. Der Investmentansatz von AVENTOS Capital Markets geht jedoch davon aus, mit der eigenen aktiven Titelauswahl diese Indizes schlagen zu können. Die existierenden Immobilien-ETFs gewichten weiterhin ihre Einzelpositionen nach deren Marktkapitalisierung, kaufen insofern tendenziell teure Titel nach und verkaufen Titel, die im Preis gefallen sind.

Wie hat sich die Rendite von Immobilienaktien im Vergleich zu anderen Assetklassen entwickelt?

Ein Vergleich mit anderen Aktien-Teilmärkten ist immer vom ausgewählten Zeitraum abhängig. Im Durchschnitt der vergangenen fünf Jahre bis Ende 2020 zeigen REITs beispielsweise eine leichte Outperformance gegenüber einem breit diversifizierten europäischen Aktienportfolio. Im Vergleich zu Immobilienfonds hingegen lag die Performance von REITs in den vergangenen 20 Jahren etwa sechsmal so hoch.

Könnte der Einstieg bei einer Aktie kursbeeinflussend wirken? Ab welchen Volumina wäre damit zu rechnen?

Ob der Einstieg bei einer Aktie kursbeeinflussend wirkt, hängt in erster Linie davon ab, wie groß das Investment im Verhältnis zur gesamten Marktkapitalisierung, zum Streubesitz sowie zum täglichen Handelsvolumen ist. Pauschal lässt sich diese Frage nicht beantworten. Doch bei sehr liquiden Aktien sehr großer Unternehmen hat ein einzelner Investor nur in Ausnahmefällen eine signifikant kursbeeinflussende Wirkung. AVENTOS Capital Markets investiert jedoch nur in Titel mit ausreichender Marktkapitalisierung und guter Handelbarkeit.

 

In unserem Whitepaper finden Sie weitere Informationen zu unseren Fonds.